top of page

The LSA Re-Elect National Officials

The Liberian Swedish Association, LSA on Saturday, the 22nd of July, held an election and re-elected Mr. David Ford as President, Mrs. Koo Yelegon Joseph as Vice President, and Mrs. Winifred Nicol Sandy as Secretary General.

Mr. David Ford, LSA President Re-elected

The LSA National Election Commission, LSANEC hosted the election at Hägerstensåsens BP, Personnevägen 35, Hägersten in Stockholm. The commission later announced the winners during the LSA's 2023 celebration of Liberia Independence Day event in Stockholm, Sweden.

The vice chairperson of the LSANEC, Oretha Mennoh was responsible for overseeing the voting process and announcing the winners. According to Mennoh, the election was conducted according to the LSA constitution, and the electoral guidelines, and voters were allowed to vote freely and fairly.

Mrs. Koo Y. Joseph, LSA Vice-President Re-elected

The outcome of the election was based on the white ballet rule - meaning in the case where only one candidate is veiling for an electoral position, he/she automatically wins such a position. However, the LSANEC enacted a voting process to demonstrate a democratic outcome. As such, voters were allowed to cast votes despite being a single registered candidate per a position.

Mrs. Winifred Sandy, LSA Secretary General, Re-elected

The LSANEC conducted a vibrant and transparent electoral process before the election. They provided a lengthy election guideline consisting of electoral rules and regulations from the LSA constitution, and all eligible participants were encouraged to register and contest in the election.

Mr. Ford and his team will go on to govern the LSA for the next three years. Other administrative positions will be filled up by appointments, and various committees and the Board will be set up in subsequent times.

80 views0 comments
bottom of page