top of page

LSA to Host Election in Malmö

Updated: Feb 23

The Liberian Swedish Association (LSA) Malmö chapter will hold elections to select new officials to oversee the chapter's affairs on Saturday, August 29, 2020.

The LSA Malmö chapter comprises Liberians residing in the southern region of Sweden, extending from municipalities after Linköping towards the border with Denmark.

For over a year, the LSA Malmö chapter has been under interim leadership, which has garnered significant praise from the LSA Stockholm Headquarter. This leadership is credited with uniting members and revitalizing the chapter.

Mr. Charles Massaquoi leads the interim leadership as chairman, with Mr. Lusiny Swaray serving as vice-chairman, Mr. Richard Baros Fully as secretary, and Miss Daisy Wesseh as financial secretary.

In conversation with the LSA Media team, Mr. Massaquoi attributed the success of his leadership partly to the unwavering support of LSA President Mr. David Ford and Vice-President Mrs. Koo Y. Joseph. He also commended the members of the LSA Malmö community for their cooperation and support.

Mr. Massaquoi expressed his intention to step aside after serving his community in various roles for an extended period. He believes this will provide an opportunity for new leaders to introduce fresh ideas for the chapter's development. However, he pledged continued commitment and support whenever needed.

Recognizing the significant accomplishments of Mr. Massaquoi and his team, the leadership of LSA Stockholm Headquarters determined it was time for the chapter's members to elect new leaders. The election will determine the chairman, vice-chairman, secretary, and financial secretary.

Mr. Beyan Kesselly and Mr. Abraham Jallah from the LSA community will serve as the election commissioner and vice-commissioners, respectively. Both previously held these roles for the LSA Norrland chapter election earlier this year.

The electoral process will adhere to LSA electoral guidelines, with the following timelines:

  1. Candidate registration: July 25, 2020, to August 15, 2020

  2. Announcement of registered candidates: August 16, 2020

  3. Official campaigning start: August 17, 2020

  4. Official campaigning end: August 28, 2020

  5. Election day (voting): August 29, 2020

  6. Announcement of winners: August 29, 2020

115 views0 comments


bottom of page