top of page

LSA Norrland Goes to Election.

Updated: Feb 23

The Liberian Swedish Association Norrland Branch (LSANB) is gearing up to hold its long-awaited election on Saturday, February 22, 2020. Established on March 30th, 2019, LSANB serves as an extension of the Liberian Swedish Association (LSA), catering to Liberians residing in cities from Sundsvall and beyond in northern Sweden.

Upon its inception, LSANB appointed an interim leadership, led by Weah E. Harris as Chairman, Ambrose J. Julue as Vice Chairman, Sakou Konneh as Secretary, Elizabeth J. Bah as Financial Secretary, Redcy Wruou as Head of the planning committee, and George T. Wilson as Chaplain. Tasked with steering the branch's administrative affairs until it was prepared for elections, this leadership diligently worked to expand membership, fortify the branch, and prepare for the upcoming electoral process.

After nearly a year in office, having successfully fulfilled their mandate, the interim leadership formally requested LSA Stockholm Headquarters for authorization to conduct elections. Following a thorough assessment of LSANB's achievements and preparedness, LSA Stockholm Headquarters graciously approved the request, allowing LSANB to proceed with organizing the election and establishing a new elected leadership.

To oversee the election process, Mr. Beyan R. Kesselly and Mr. Abraham Jallah were appointed as election commissioners. Operating in accordance with the election guidelines outlined in the LSA constitution, supplemented by additional regulations agreed upon by LSA Stockholm Headquarters and LSANB's interim leadership, the commissioners will ensure a fair and transparent election.

In addition to the election commissioners, LSA President Mr. David Ford and Vice President Mrs. Koo Y. Joseph will serve as election observers, ensuring that the electoral process adheres to established guidelines and regulations.

The LSANB election timeline is as follows:

  • Registration for candidates: January 20th - February 3, 2020

  • Announcement of registered candidates: February 5, 2020

  • Commencement of official campaigning: February 5, 2020

  • Conclusion of official campaigning: February 21, 2020

  • Election date: February 22, 2020

  • Announcement of winners: February 22, 2020

With this comprehensive plan in place, LSANB is poised to transition smoothly into a new era of leadership, committed to advancing the interests of its members and fostering community growth and development.

110 views0 comments


bottom of page